How to delete your LinkedIn account, or temporarily deactivate it

You possibly can delete your LinkedIn account from the Settings & Privateness web page.
Once you delete your account, LinkedIn will take away your account info inside seven days.
Your public LinkedIn profile should be seen on engines like google till caches are refreshed.
Go to Insider’s Tech Reference library for extra tales.

Loading
One thing is loading.

LinkedIn is a social media website that is distinct from another. As a substitute of encouraging you to publish curated photos of your fabulous life, or scroll endlessly by means of random memes, LinkedIn is all about networking for professionals who’re enthusiastic about their careers. 

That mentioned, LinkedIn is not for everybody, and chances are you’ll be part of the positioning solely to determine later that you just not wish to use it. If that is the case, you will have to know the best way to delete your LinkedIn account altogether. 

This is the best way to delete your LinkedIn account, or quickly “hibernate” your account. 

Learn how to delete your LinkedIn account

1. Go to the LinkedIn web site and log in together with your username and password. 

2. As soon as logged in, click on on the Me possibility, which seems simply beneath your profile picture within the menu bar on the prime of the display screen.

3. Within the drop-down menu that seems, click on Settings & Privateness

Within the “Me” drop-down, choose “Settings & Privateness.”

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider

4. Within the menu on the left facet of the display screen, click on the Account preferences tab, and choose Account administration within the submenu that seems. 

Below “Account preferences,” choose “Account administration.”

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider

5. Within the Account administration part, click on Change subsequent to Shut account.  

Click on “Change” subsequent to “Shut account.”

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider

6. On the next web page, you will be requested to verify your need to shut your account, in addition to the rationale behind your choice. You may also fill in a suggestions field to share further feedback or issues with LinkedIn. As soon as completed, click on Subsequent.

7. Subsequent, you will be requested to re-enter your password to finish the deletion course of. Fill this in and click on Shut account

Enter your password and hit “Shut account.”

Jennifer Nonetheless/Insider

What occurs after you delete your LinkedIn account

It takes LinkedIn as much as seven days to take away all of your info from its servers. Nonetheless, as quickly as you delete your account, all of your contacts and profile info shall be wiped. 

Which means must you determine to return to LinkedIn once more in future, you will want to begin a totally new profile, and rebuild your endorsements and connections from scratch.

That mentioned, even after these seven days have handed, there’s an opportunity you will nonetheless be capable of see your LinkedIn account on engines like google like Google and Bing. It is because engines like google can replace slower than particular person web sites. Simply give it a number of weeks, and engines like google will finally clear their caches and replace their outcomes.

LinkedIn does assist you to obtain a replica of your knowledge earlier than deletion, must you wish to retain any info after your account is closed.

Leave a Comment